Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages?

These days, learning foreign language plays an important role in people’s life because it brings several opportunities for them to obtain high-paid jobs. Therefore, some researchers think that it would be better for children to accessing a foreign language when they are in element school than secondary school. However, from my point of view, it is essential to explore both sides of the issue. In this essay, I will explain this case in details and give my own opinion.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that children have more ability to remember than adults. In other words, this means that children talents at imitating due to their very fresh mind. Children was born like a pure paper and without knowing any kinds of verbal and non-verbal language, but their parents can gradual teach them talk, write and help them to understand what people around them say in mother tongue. I think this case is as same the way children approach to another language. As a result, like a piece of cake, it is easy for them to try to follow it. One more positive aspect is that children in primary school do not need to deal with many subjects, which gives them more time to focus on practicing a foreign language and become more fluent when they grow up.

On the other hand, although children can remember quickly and totally, they just learn by rote, which leads to sometimes they cannot understand the whole meaning of the new language. For example, at this age, most of them do not how to write and spell the alphabet very well, so the only way for the language teacher to teach children is let them to repeat many times. Besides, language disorder is the very popular symptom in many children. There is no denying that children are too young to deal with many lessons, especially the lessons about language. When they are crammed by a large number of vocabulary in two or three different languages, they may feel struggle and do not know how to balance it.

As explain both sides of the issue, I strongly believe that the advantages and disadvantages of letting children to learn language when they in primary school are the same. Therefore, to have as good result as possible, I think it is really important to help children to balance their ability in learning mother tongue and foreign language. Instead of forcing them to learn by heart, it would be better if parents and teacher make effort on explaining the meaning for them carefully and show them how to use it.