Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

A few professionals think that studying an overseas language at the elementary stage of their school provides numerous benefits to the students instead of learning it at later school. In my opinion, I believe that although it has little drawbacks however, it provides more benefits such as enhancement of child’s cognitive skills, enrichment of knowledge as well as building up of personality.

Despite the drawbacks below, I believe that learning an additional language at a young age enhances their IQ. Researches have shown that multilingual personalities are more active than monolingual people. There is no surprise then that Albert Einstein spoke five different languages from a young age, and he was undoubtedly one of the greatest minds on earth.Secondly, children have more grasping stamina than adults. As a result, what they learn at this age gets imprinted on their mind. As the children grows, this language learning ability diminishes.

Admittedly,there are some issues involved when multiple languages in primary school are that the child may confuse the foreign dialect and their native tongue. As a result, they may take longer to achieve fluency in their mother tongue. For example, we sometimes see that children born and brought up outside India have difficulty in conversing with their family in their native language. However, in my opinion, if parents make it a point to speak to their children in their mother tongue, this problem can be resolved easily. Another disadvantage of adding a new language to the primary school curriculum is that it puts an extra burden on children. Children already have a lot of subjects to learn and a new language can make the syllabus even heavier.

In conclusion, educating children to be multilingual from an early age promotes better language skills and a higher IQ in them. Parents and teachers just need to ensure that the new language does not become a burden for the kids.