Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Because countries throughout the world are progressively opening their borders to international trade, it is critical to be fluent in a second language. Some argue that children should study a second language as part of their elementary education. This offers both pros and downsides; however, I believe the benefits outweigh the problems.

Learning a foreign language in elementary school has a number of drawbacks. To begin with, this places an additional load on young people, as more subjects equals more pressure. It may also be seen that children who are subjected to additional academic pressure are more likely to develop health problems. Furthermore, children may experience linguistic problems in both their mother tongue and their second language. The child's mother tongue is not mastered when they enter primary school, and learning another language might cause challenges such as uncertainty in language choice and expression when speaking the original language.

It is evident that acquiring a second language at a young age has numerous benefits for children. Many studies show that the sooner children acquire a foreign language, the better their chances of developing a language that is similar to their mother tongue. To put it another way, this is both extremely effective and low-effort. Furthermore, learning a foreign language at a young age benefits children not just in terms of their ability to communicate in that language, but also in terms of their intelligence and development in other areas. To give an example, learning a new language aids intellectual development, broadens knowledge, and increases confidence in youngsters. Correct pronunciation and fluency, as a result of early training, will extend future learning options and employment.

Although learning a new language at a young age can have drawbacks, these issues can be overcome with the proper parenting. As a result, I firmly believe that pupils should begin learning foreign languages in elementary school rather than later in high school.