You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Some would argue that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society, while others say that the best place to learn this is actually at school. However, I think schools were still a better environment for education.

There are many reasons why assigning parents to teach their children to be good members of society is supported by some people. Firstly, most of the children mimic and look up to their parents as examples. For instance, in families where parents regularly argue, children will use that bad act as a way to resolve the conflict. Secondly, they spend most of the time with their parents before entering their teenage hood. Therefore, kids are more likely to learn from their parents. Especially before the age of the school, parents are the only teachers that form infants’ behaviors and personalities.

However, other people, myself included, totally agree that school is the right place to learn how to be good members of society. In fact, this education offers real-world cases, mostly from a professional perspective. This means that teachers in schools will teach children the knowledge in books and life skills. Considering that, it can be seen that there are some cases where the children had a very bad attitude before going to school, but when they entered the school, their attitude changed for the better. Additionally, parents today are too busy, have little time to spend with their children, and school takes up most of their day, so the educational environment greatly impacts a child's character development.

To conclude, both parents and schools are good teachers for children. Parents are the role models children follow, but the education system plays a much more significant role in different ways.