Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin a foreign language of primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, learning a foreign language is necessary for children. Although many experts believe children tend to learn a second language better if they study it in their primary school, some put more emphasis on secondary education for better results. To some extent, I think the drawbacks of learning a language at an early age are overshadowed by the benefits.

On the plus side, there are some benefits involved. Before puberty, younger children are blessed with a critical learning period, meaning they are more likely to acquire a new language. Simply put, the younger a child is, the easier the language acquisition happens. Take immigration as an example; if an individual emigrates as a young child, they are more inclined to become fluent in the target language. Additionally, as a child grows up, the affective filter, dealing with a lack of motivation and self-confidence, develops. In secondary school, children are more obsessed with their mistakes, hindering the process of language acquisition, and since this process is full of error commitment, younger children can cope with it more effectively than their older counterparts.

However, the disadvantages cannot be ignored. The most axiomatic argument is concerned with the level of pressure that is connected with learning a second language, which children generally cannot withstand. Not only do they have to learn their native language, but also learn new concepts like math. Moreover, the importance of other subjects to be fully learned is no comparable to second language acquisition, say, science, which is viewed as a core subject worldwide.

To recapitulate, despite the controversy surrounding the best age of second language learning, I believe due to chief reasons as in the natural talent of every child to acquire a foreign tongue and being less sensitive to their errors, the positives outrank the negatives.