Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Zoos are considered a place for entertainment. Although some people object to keeping animals in zoos, many believe that zoos are a way to safeguard endangered animals. I believe that keeping animals in captivity is not ethical and zoos need to be closed down at the earliest.

One the one hand, zoos are viewed as a place to conserve endangered species. The urban development takes its toll on the natural habitat of a wealth of rare animals. In other words, the more residential areas expand, the more logging and deforestation happen. Moreover, illegal poaching poses considerable risks to indigenous animals. As a result, it is vital to offer wildlife sanctuaries to those species that are on the verge of extinction. Take African elephants as a salient example; not only are their native habitat is being threatened, but also, they are still being poached in large numbers for their tusks.

On the flip side, the ethics of keeping animals in captivity is in question. Many wild animals including endangered species in captivity, such as elephants live their lives in chains, unable to display any natural roaming behaviour or move beyond a few meters. Even though some wild animals might not be safe in wildlife, the restrictions posed on their instinct may cause self-harm due to constant confinement. Captive wild animals also suffer from cruel mutilation with their teeth and claws cut back. To make the matters worse, many terrified animals such as pigs, chickens, rabbits, and cows drop into the enclosures of starving lions or tigers, for the entertainment of crowds.

All in all, keeping animals in zoos go hand in hand with many merits and demerits. Despite its utmost importance in preserving wild animals, restricting them in cramped living conditions can cause a wealth of problems for animals as in self-harm. Additionally, not all animals are treated well in zoos. Many individuals, including me, criticize zoos’ existence.