In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be a case? Do you think this is a positive or negative solution?

Buying a property is one of the biggest steps in people’s lives. Even though some might view it unnecessary and more likely to rent houses annually, the rest try their best to afford buying a flat. There are many reasons behind these varied desires, namely stability in life and not having to be accountable to the owners. As far as I am concerned, the importance of buying a house is by no means comparable with renting it.

The chief reasons to buy a property can be manifold. To embark with, many people need stability in their lives, meaning they do not want to relocate every year or be always concerned with an increase in the rental fee. The older generation, having been retired or working in the public sector, are more inclined to be reluctant to re-house, due to their higher tendency to be stable. On the other hand, for some people renting a place for living is a waste of money although it would be a good chance for individuals with business acumen to invest the money on more lucrative businesses like stock market. Accordingly, the former group would rather spend their money on buying a home for not only themselves, but the future of their offspring. For instance, during the lockdown, many renters had problems with their expenditure, particularly the rental fee they had to pay monthly, while house owners were not confronted with this hurdle.

There are a variety of attitudes towards buying or renting a house. Some might believe that buying a house brings about extreme dullness in their lives. They also do not see buying a place as profitable as running a business with the same amount of layout. However, I believe these ideas are flawed. If a family buys a house, they will be given a golden opportunity to renovate or design their homes the way it would meet their needs to the fullest, which is impossible in rental places, leading to a variety. Moreover, owning a flat is a good investment for individuals who are quite risk-averse, especially in countries with high rate of inflation like Iran and Venezuela.

In conclusion, although some are keen on renting a house, others want to buy a place for being stable and having a future investment. This is, I believe, a positive approach in life due to the merits that go hand in hand it owning a house, namely being allowed to make aesthetic changes and having a low-risk investment.