In spite of the advancements made in agriculture, many people around the world, still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

Famine is a global issue. Despite the significant progress in farming, starvation has not been thoroughly eradicated. There are several reasons behind this disturbing phenomenon as in the rising food price and changing weather patterns, which may be solved by substantial aid programs to the poor and GM crops.

The reasons for global starvation can be manifold. Advanced farming machines have made agriculture faster and easier, which should exert positive impacts on food prices. However, there are still impoverished individuals who cannot afford sufficient nutrients due to their rocketing prices stemming from inflation. Put simply, the more expensive foods become, the more people remain hungry. Take Iran, which is a well-developed country in terms of agriculture, as an example. Iranian underprivileged families cannot purchase adequate foods due to inflation, so they suffer from malnourishment. Secondly, agriculture is extremely vulnerable to climate change, which ranges from drought to heavy rain. That, inevitably, causes insufficient food sources for some nations which are highly exposed to widespread floods or long scratches of drought. For instance, India's farming is highly dependent on monsoon rainfall, so the lack of monsoon rain spells disaster for people.

Solving these matters requires concerted efforts. Addressing the first issue, not only do governments need to keep foods’ prices under constant surveillance but they are also obliged to provide a subsidized canteen for the poor. Moreover, genetically modified crops that can withstand extreme weather conditions should come into consideration. If enough crops, despite the harsh weather, were yielded, the distribution of food with reasonable prices would be even; therefore fewer people would suffer from constant hunger.

To conclude, hunger continues to haunt millions of people unless governments and scientists set the wheels in motion. High food prices and adverse weather conditions have dire consequences on global hunger, which can be eradicated by introducing cheaper foods or high-yielding crops like GM.