Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language becomes the mandatory in today’s society as the world has been globalized. Now the issue is whether teaching this foreign language from primary school in order to master the bilingual skills or teaching students from secondary school once they mastered a mother tongue language. Both approaches have pros and cons, but I believe that teach a foreign language at primary school would bring more downsides such as language confusion and the possibility loss of student’s identity than that of advantage, which has only a single benefit of mastering a foreign language.

Due to globalization, learning a foreign language becomes important because it is people’s competitive advantages. For example, in Korea, where children are speaking English only at school while they use Korean back home, managed perfect with their bilingual skills. If this continued, they can speak with languages easily and naturally and this means that they have a competitive advantage over other competitions for the future career.

In contrast to this benefit of languages in future career, it has a definite downside. For instance, as with the example above, realistically, many children are suffering to distinct between Korean and English between two places while they can master of bilingual skills. However, not all children are and will be followed this path. Some are failed to master this skill and they stuck at language confusions which can lead to the confusion with their identities.

Furthermore, the continuous confusion with languages can put children in dilemma and that can lead to self-identity confusions. Even though children are young and immature, they recognize of their mistakes and failure in the use of languages. Once this event becomes frequent, students may lose interest in study as a whole as well as questioning of their existence. In the case of Asian countries, they sent many young children to Western countries to grasp of better education and for the competitive advantages. However, there are many of them who have difficulties to recover from their mistakes despite other external factors (environment, culture and loneliness). As a result, these downturns of children to suffer learning a new language cannot be considered to overweigh the benefits.

In conclusion, as the world grows into complicated big one world, learning of other languages becomes important for the future careers (easier conversation). Even though this benefit is advantageous for adult’s perspective, children may suffer from various psychological illnesses such as language confusions and identity dilemmas. Therefore, I do not believe that the advantages of this issue outweigh the disadvantages.