Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry.

Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages

In this day and age, many people who want to get into a museum or an art exhibition are required to pay entrance fees, however, the rest of that procide it at free-of-charge. Although the act of charging visitors to these areas contains both positivity and negativity, the drawbacks overperform the benefits since it can deter many lower-income people from visiting these places

On the one hand, there are several justifications as to why admission fee should be demanded for an exihibition in museums or art galleries to maintain management system as well as facilities stability . In detail, museums and art galleries have been raised fund by government agencies, nonetheless, this budget is relatively limited and unadequate to ensure the effectiveness of museums’operation. Hence, they have to be struggle with different payments such as electric, water bill or staff salary if they do not charge their visitors. In addition, people often show strong preferences toward free goods or services that they do not even need. As a result, since museums are free to enter they are flocked by mass tourisms and local residents, which can cause a host of devastating consequences for them like vandalism or degradation in their amenities

On the other hand, charging any fee to entry can bring a much greater deal of shortcomings for museums and art galleries, when they can become less attractive for low-class people and give inequal chances for different classes in society to absorb more knowledge. Obviously, if museums require people to pay the same amount of money as other entertainment like café or cinema, they will feel hesitate to visit, especially for those people who have tight budget. Moreover, since these people do not afford to go to these places, their opportunities of having deeper insights into the world would also lower than others. As the prominent goal of these museums and art galleries is education and decrease the number of people living under a rock, by demanding entrance fee, they totally fail to accomplish this

To conclude, although selling tickets can help many museums and art galleries to gain more stable source of profit besides the government’s fund, the disadvantages of an admission fee are overshadowed. I am strongly endorse the idea that museums and art galleries should be totally free-of charge to attract more tourists and inhabitants