Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The dress style is very important for many organizations, it is one of the ways that how other people judge the way you work. But some workplaces prefer to improve the performance of their employees rather than focus on wearing smart and beautiful clothes. So, the appearance or the working quality of the employees, which one is more important?

Many organizations regulate their members to wear uniform. They believe that with a formal and polite dress style, other people will have strong attraction with the way they work. In the places like hospitals, banks, shopping malls, …., where the staffs have to work directly with people, beside servicing in the best manner, a smart and beautiful dress style will make the customers impress and feel more pleasure. Also with the formal uniforms like the polices, the doctors or the lawyers, people can feel the professional style from those outfits, and they also can recognize which organization that the employees work for.

On the other hand, some workplaces don’t require members to wear formal or smart clothes, they care more about the quality of the employees’ s performance. Most of this place, the staffs don’t need to work directly with the customers, so they can choose to wear any kind of clothes as long as it’s suitable for the working environment. For example, most designers in companies only focus on how to design the products that will pleasure the customers, they don’t need to meet the customers usually so they don’t have to wear formal uniforms, just have to wear comfortable and suitable clothes that help them think more effective.

Overall, in my opinion, I believe that both of these views depend on the organization activities. If the staff members have to work directly with other people, a smart and beautiful suit with best manner will help them more confident and make the customers more impress. And for the employees that work without meeting the customers too often, they can just wear suitable and comfortable clothes and focus on how to improve their performance to make the organization more and more develop.