Some parents believe that reading entertainment books is a waste of time. In their opinion, children should only read serious, educational books. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own experience

Nowaday, many parents have belief that their children should read only some type of serious or educational books. In my personal opinion, I definitely disagree with that point.

Firstly, I would like to talk about serious/educational books. Everybody all agree that these books contain a lot of information from technology, environment to politic, but I think that's exactly a matter. Because, in most situations, it's seen hard for children to read and understand all given knowledge. Because readers (especially young age) are required a high focusing ability and maintain in a certain period of time, but not every children can do well it offers.

Secondly, I believe some parents that they have a wrong view about entertainment books. For example, they hold a thinking these books can spoil their child, due to violence, sex, movie.... But it's not true. The fact is these books also contain some useful informations. They are even much more interesting for children, colorful images, illustrated pictures, format,... Reading entertainment books not only help our young generation to relax but also memorize longer than usual. Therefore, we can't ignore the true that some of them provide a real view about society. In this case, the older can teach them about bad things and the way to protect themselves.

Conclusion, my viewpoint is parents shouldn't prevent their child reading entertainment books. Instead, the better way is reading both educational and entertainment books