Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their
children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What
consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get
older?
It is true that some parents are overly permissive and tend to spoil their children. In
my opinion, this is not a good parenting style, and it can have a range of negative
long-term consequences.
If parents want to raise respectful and well-behaved children, I believe that it is
necessary to have a certain amount of discipline. Having worked with children
myself, I have learnt that clear expectations and boundaries are needed, and it is
important to be able to say ‘no’ to children when they misbehave or try to push
against these boundaries. This is the only way to help young people to regulate their
desires and develop self-control. In my view, parents who do the opposite and
constantly give in to their children’s demands, are actually doing more harm than
good. They are failing their children rather than being kind to them.
The children of indulgent or lenient parents are likely to grow up with several
negative personality traits. The first and most obvious danger is that these children
will become self-centred adults who show little consideration for the feelings or
needs of others. One consequence of such an attitude could be that these adults
are unable to work successfully in teams with other colleagues. A second negative
trait in such people could be impulsiveness. A person who has never lived with any
boundaries is likely to lack the patience to carefully consider options before making
decisions. This may lead, for example, to compulsive shopping, unwise financial
decisions, or even criminal activity.
In conclusion, parents should help their children to develop self-control and respect
for others, and I do not believe that the permissive parenting style supports this
objective.