In some parts of the world, it's becoming increasingly popular to try to find out the history of their own family. why do you think people do this? Do you think it's a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is popular trend to find history of particular family and it is very easy because of internet. It has some positive development such as to know about ancestors, our tradition and culture etc. besides that, some negative development such as waste of time and money, sometime is cause worse effect on our mind etc. I would like to give my opinion in conclusion.

On one hand, people are taking more interest on family history, some of them found on internet or some of them people heard from their grandparents. The reason is that, this history is the reference for future generation, how they were survived, thus parents should tell to children. Another reason is to get information about particular disease such as diabetes, thyroid, some form of cancer. If someone has any disease in past then, future generation can take some precaution on this. Furthermore, in India, the family history is important for marital purpose, we can say that is the tradition of India. However, history is important for next generation because they can understand about the culture, some tradition of family, living style, eating pattern. In addition, ancestors followed some rules, patterns because there is some scientific reason behind this.

On the other hand, some people think that it has negative effect. If someone wants to know about genes then, he or she has to spend high amount of money also all this kinds of report take long time. Thus, this is waste of time and money. Another reason is that, if we could focus on present then our future would be better. One more thing is that sometime history caused negative effect on attitude. For instance, if someone’s grandparents had good background or belonged to royal family then their grandchildren may take advantage of this. So these are negative effect.

To conclude that, to check our family background is good if we take it as positive way. Thus, I believe that it is positive development.