Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.

Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Crime and punishment have been debatable issues in all societies. Certain individuals suppose that the death penalty is advisable for brutal criminals, whereas others think such a measure is obsolete in the modern world. Although I agree that capital punishment possesses some advantages, I consider it should be abolished in all countries.

On the other hand, capital punishment can reduce prison expenses for the government. The money costs for the detention of prisoners every year that can use for other purposes such as helping disable or poor people, adopting wild animals,.. and so on. Also, the prisoners who do not change their behaviors when being free will continue causing issues in other prisons. Hence, the possible solutions, in this case, is capital punishment. Indeed, the decreasing number of prisoners assists in reducing financial pressure for the government.

On the other hand, the court is led by people who can make mistakes and send suspects to jail by mistake. In some cases, the judgment can change because of finding new pieces of evidence, but victims who are killed can not be resurrected. Therefore, innocent members of society can lose their lives for the actions of others, true murderers. For instance, in Viet Nam, Nguyen Thanh Chan ( Bac Giang) fully vindicated after 10 years in prison just when the true criminality is arrested. However, no one makes sure that his life after he was released will be back to normal due to the stigma of people around. Therefore, the lack of objectivity in ascertaining whether a person is considered guilty or not remains still too high to let condemn somebody to death.

To sum up, it can be concluded that despite its apparent benefits, I reckon that the execution of a human being ought to be out of a realm of punitive branches of legislation. Although capital punishment may be considered a crucial instrument of retaliation in some cases, I believe that the judicial branch defies perfection, which likely leads to an error of judgment.