some people are born to be leaders, while others believe leadership can be learnt.

people have different views about what makes a great leader. while there are individuals who have the inborn ability to be leaders, I would argue that leadership is something we need to learn. On the one hand, it is true that many people are born to be leaders. Firstly, as those who are innately intelligent are able to think and react quickly in difficult situations, they can easily become good leaders. For instance, although my uncle, who is very smart, did not take part in any leadership training courses, he has successfully managed his own company for more than 20 years and has made a fortune with it. Secondly, individuals who are exceptionally talented would also find it easy to be trusted by others. Therefore, they are obvious candidates for top positions in organisations. For example, in football, the most skillful player in each team is usually given the captain armband. On the other hand, I believe people can learn to become leaders. The first reason is that having talent and intelligence is not enough, and leadership is a set of skills that people need to acquire. For example, in management training programmes held by big corporations every year, young participants have to go through intense training in order to take up managerial positions in the future. Additionally, in order to climb up the career ladder and hold leadership positions, people need to gain specialised knowledge of their own profession. If a person lacks experience and understanding of his field, it could be incredibly challenging for him to be a good manager. In conclusion, while there are those who are born with the characteristics of a leader, I believe people can also train themselves to be good leaders.