Some people argue that strict punishment for driving offenses is the only effective way toward improving safety on the road. Do you agree or disagree?

Recent few decades has witnessed a considerable rise in number of vehicles on urban roads. Along with this there is increment in driving offences too, and to solve this growing problem government of many countries have enforced strict and stricter rules for offenders. This essay provides empirical evidences in agreement with it.

To begin with, it is the fact that stricter punishments are the most effective measure for road safety. To explain, fear of punishment brings discipline and keeps bad driving habits at bay. For example, strict punishments like heavy fine, suspension of licence and imprisonment all these compel drivers to drive safely with all required precautions. Thus, such steps ensure safety by developing sense of responsibility in driving habits of people. Consequently, benefit society with minimized causalities, injuries, loss of public and private property and provides happy, safe, mature and responsible society.

Moreover, society and government need to focus on traffic education along with punishment. In other words, making people aware of laws through mandatory seminars and compulsory classes before providing licence to drive prevent frequent road accidents. Adding to it, stiffening the licensing procedure also ensures qualified drivers on the road and brings down number of road accidents to big extent. Furthermore, investing in traffic infrastructures, such as improving road safety, should be a prior option. As driving on the safe roads minimize frequency of accidents and degree of their damage. Singapore, case in point, government subsidized heavily in traffic system, the rate of traffic accidents is quite low. However, life is very precious, so development, awareness and strict punishment are only options to minimize traffic causalities.

To summarize, offensive driving must be penalized heavily in order to bring safety on the roads sense of accountability in drivers along with that government must focus on development of safer roads and licensing only mature and responsible drivers.