Some people believe arts subjects such as literature and music have little importance in schools today.

To what extent do you agree with this?

Nowadays, school is considered by many as an institute that prepares our children for life. Hence, some people still argue about whether subjects based on creativity and art, such as literature and music, have a significant role in pupil's lives or should become optional.

On one hand, the most exploited jobs require concise and narrowed minds as they use exact data that cannot be altered. That is because the slightest deviation from figures could harm the most of population. Since these careers are for the long-term and bring employees significant profit, the growing interest in these domains, namely medicine, science and technology, is self-explained. As a result, the exclusion of subjects that do not train the mindset to operate precisely could facilitate youth access towards preparing for those employment sectors.

On the other hand, compositional and writing art is a particular form of communication and expressing your thoughts wrapped in metaphors and word games. Thus, the meaning is hidden from the public eye, and we have to uncover the message using our senses. Therefore, we train our cognitive system, especially the capacity of assimilation and thinking skills, and experience development in characters that leads to outlining an open mind. Moreover, as both music and literature relieve in the use of words, we acquire an elevated vocabulary and talking manners which could help us convincingly impose our viewpoints in front of other individuals.

To conclude, I believe that education ought not to change its running system as schools represent the primary factor that moulds the children and prepares them for becoming employees. So, there should be varied options they can choose from.