In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard in their studies.

What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, the youth find themselves having very little time to rest because of the exhausting devotion they have to put into their studies. From my point of view, this excessive commitment to study has two main causes.

The first one is parental pressure. Parents are the ones with a significant impact on their growth since each one wants to see his or her child do well in school and succeed in their future career, and they are the ones who spend the most time with their children when little. Thus, they put pressure on their children to spend hours each day studying and forget about their need for leisure time to unwind from the outside world. One solution to this problem is for schools to hold monthly with parents. There, the tutors should inform parents about the risks and mental disorders a teenager is exposed to due to unbalanced lives with little amounts of leisure time.

Another reason for young learners' exhaustion refers to their academic profiles and competition for higher education places. Some domains have a greater demand than the maximum number of university places. Hence, only those students with very high grades manage to obtain a position and get the opportunity to develop and succeed on their desired career path. This means that those who want to have a chance of enrollment must dedicate their free time to study. An effective action that could be taken is the government investment in the creation of more university places either by building new campuses or expanding the existing ones.