Some individuals argue that bikes execute the role of the most important vehicle in urban areas, whereas some people hold a different opinion. From my perspective, pedal cycle is vital due to its environmental benefits, however, there are several drawbacks of this mean of transport. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of cycling and explain why I support bicycle journeys.

On the one hand, bicycles are eco-friendly and sustainable.Firstly, many cities are now face up to severe impacts of air pollution, which has been mostly caused by the emission of gas vehicles,such as cars and motorbikes. Hence, using bikes is one of the best methods to reduce the amount of toxic substances, so as to improve the quality of human’s life and physical health. Secondly, bike riding can lower the accident rates.For example, city streets are always jam-packed, so that commuting by bicycles is an effective way to ease the traffic flow and make people travel more easily.

On the other hand, pedal cycles is not suitable for long-distance travel. Cycling needs physical strength and it can not provide some important functions such as air conditioner and cuishioned seats. Thus, people will be exhausted when they have to ride for hours. Furthermore, bicycle journey take more time for individuals to transport, especially going to work or school. For instance, students who use bikes tend to go to school later in comparison with those who use motorcycles or public transports.

To sum up, bike riding has a great variety of benefits including pollution-free and reducing traffic jams, despite a few cons such as time-wasting and lacking of infrastructures.