Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

These days, it is believed by some that it is necessary for the state to prevent children from using phones in school day, while others claim that they need to be accepted to use their phone. Both view are reasonable, but personally I lean toward the latter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people avocate the authorities instituting a cell phone ban to children during the school day. To begin with, getting the notifications from cell phone applications could cause distractions. This is because students might forget to turn off their phones in class, and ringing noises or text message alerts disrupt learning and school work. Additionally, cell phones can be used for bullying and can have a negative effect on mental health. Many studys show that social networks such as TikTok, Instagram or Facebook can add to the spread of rumors and misinformation, which can be used for cyberbullying.

On the other hand, I am convinced that it is more benefical for children to use cellphones in school. Firstly, cellphones can be used when help is needed. In fact, as this generation of children has grown up with more kidnapping case and mass shootings, and specifically school shootings, if they were in danger, they can reach the authorities or a medical provider. Secondly, using cellphones helps children create social connections. By widespread social media, children can text, keep in touch, make plans or even discuss homework assighnment, which could improve their communication and teamwork skills.

In conclusion, although there may be some reasons to support the cellphone should be banned by the government from children in school, I believe that allowing children to use phone would gain more advantages.