Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. How far do you agree or disagree?

Sports have a lot of benefits for people, especially, for the young generation. However, some people claim that having competitive sports at schools are useless because students may be a waste of time and these sports are too dangerous. I strongly disagree with this idea since they are vital for children's development.

First of all, although doing physical activities takes students out of primary subjects such as math and literature, there is no doubt that it is an essential part for the learning process of all pupils since it since it creates a healthy basis for later life. Take an example children who do sports every day have fewer opportunities to have the heart attack and avoid obesity. Moreover, thanks to playing sports, student's brain can be relaxed after long lessons; and consequently, the productivity will be increased.

Secondly, it is impossible to argue the fact that competitive sports help students in social skills development like team building and coalition with others. When people play in a team with the same final goal, they will not be selfish. For students playing individual games, they can not only improve their communication and their problem-solving problems but also enlarge their social relations. Besides, playing sports will teach pupils the practical lessons and how to deal with stressful situations. A good example is when you win a highly competitive match, you will be more confident to go ahead. In contrast, when you are a loser, you must stand up and force yourself to the next one. All of these skills are crucial for students in the future works.

To sum up, there are no reasons that competitive sports should be neglected in schools because of the vast advantages they bring to children in social skills and both physical and mental health.