Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in school curriculum. How far do you agree or disagree ?

More and more residents agree to drop sports out of school timetable, which has competitive trends as a team or by their own, in the school timetable. While I support partially that few school games waste precious times of students, I do trust that there are advantages which those sports can bring to them.

Some hold the view that competitive sports do not bring any benefit to students, because It wastes time and money of their parents, also harmful for their mental and physical health. Firstly, students are people who have a strict timetable in school, so they need relaxing sports to relieve stress as well as less being time-consuming as competitive sports, after the busy schedule. Playing competitive sports such as football may cause injuries, especially to their health. Furthermore, students who interested in those sport, are considered to have more levels of aggression and bullying than those who don’t play this kind of sport. Lastly, some sports require expensive sports accessories which most students do not have enough money to afford, specifically to poor students, due to their parent’s income are not being stable.

However, there are other merits of competitive sports that should make it become one of the main subjects in school. Competitive sports do not only help students to improve their ability, but also personalities. According to global specialists in sport, this type of sport enhances solidarity between team members, also connect each person to become a firm group which helps a child to work as a team. In addition, the student abilities will be improved in many facets of life, when they play sports which contain the competitive spirit. These children can improve their life skill, such as dealing with difficult without hesitation or braving to challenge any difficult situation in their life. For example, Japanese parents have let their kids play competitive sports, such as basketball at the young age, because this sport helps their child to feel less timid, brave to overcome obstacles in life and work as a team. That is the main reason Japanese children have received many compliments from parents from other countries when their kids are less confident than those from Japanese.

In conclusion, there are conflicting opinions about competitive sport whether should it be added to student timetable or not. From my viewpoint, these sport need to become an obliged subject same as others to students of all age.