Some people believe that countries with strong economy should help emerging nations.

Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of giving international aid to poor countries.

Countries with strong economy are supposed to help third-world countries. It will help to accelerate economic development in poorer countries and reduce risks of war; however, certain drawbacks should be taken into account.

As for the benefits of helping third-world countries, it would accelerate economic prosperity and avoiding war. Acceleration of an economic growth will cause improvement of living conditions for people in third-world countries if aid is invested in creating new productions, medicine, and infrastructure. It allows increasing the number of working places and reducing children’s mortality. Another advantage consists of reducing risks of war, as if poor countries have enough resources, they would not try to conquer others; and citizens will gain an opportunity to return to normal life when war finishes.

Despite pluses of helping emerging countries mentioned above, the main disadvantages might be connected with the risk of corruption’s growth in poor countries after getting money and reduction of political freedoms. Firstly, as some studies show, monetary aid might even sometimes make the situation within poor countries worse because of corruption’s growth. Secondly, according to the experience of foreign help for some of the African countries, the situation when the main source of state budget is foreign aid leads to disconnection between a government and citizens so they do not have influence on countries development though their rights.

In conclusion, although obvious economic and political benefits could be found, aid from rich countries could lead to corruption growth, increasing gap between citizen’s incomes, and make a political system unstable and less democratic.