Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think crime is as result of bad person's nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, a surge in crime rate indicates that our society seems to be losing its moral compass. However, some people argue that crime is attributable to social issues and poverty while others believe crime is a consequence of innate characteristics. The following paragraphs will discuss both views and my own perception.

It is reasonable to believe social issues and poverty are arguably the main causes of crime. First of all, people affected by poverty are likely to commit crimes as those people are even incapable of making ends meet and they are also in desperate need of necessities to survive; as a consequence, they might develop a tendency to commit burglary or robbery. In addition, social problems such as inequality could also lead to an increase in crime rate; for instance, in some countries, lower-class citizens or people from disadvantaged background are treated unfairly or even excluded by governments, which could initially whip them into a frenzy and finally culminate in a series of their anti-social actions, including arson and vandalism.

On the other hand, crime may also result from negative personal nature. In the first place, some psychological scientists have established that aggressive individuals have higher possibility of becoming a criminal in the future in comparison with kind people, since aggressive people are more likely to be violent towards others and have a tendency to commit murder and rape; Furthermore, bad characteristics such as greed could also breed future offenders, as greedy people are normally prone to the temptation of money; therefore, there is higher likelihood that they will be involved in variety of financial crimes such as fraud or bribery.

In my opinion, crime is attributed to a wide range of factors including social problems, poverty, and a person’s innate characteristics. However, it is our obligation to be a law-abiding citizen to maintain the moral compass of our society.