Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss and give your opinion.

People have different views about what is the main contributing factor to crimes in society. While I agree that people’s nature can lead to committing crimes, I would argue that social problems result in crime the most.

On the one hand, I think crimes are caused by those having bad characteristics for a couple of reasons. Firstly, individuals are lazy or not hardworking studying ever since they were young tends to turn in criminals later on. For example, these people often easily are tempted to earning easy money, which makes them become criminals such as burglaries or robberies. Secondly, it is not surprising that students who usually bully others at school are more likely to be future violent offenders than those who do not. For instance, one of my old friends cannot help himself from beating other classmates ever since secondary school if they do not give him their money. As a result, he ends up with being in prison because of his own behaviours.

On the other hand, I do believe that crime is a result of social issues as well as poverty. In many developing and less developed countries, people living below the poverty line are still at the high level. Many of them struggle to meet their ends meet, so they are forced to steal money from others to raise their families. Additionally, individual are likely to break the laws due to a lack of awareness. It is therefore essential to put much emphasis on education in society. If citizens are highly educated, they can have sufficient knowledge and skilled need to get jobs and support themselves.

In conclusion, while I suppose crime might be a consequence of the bad persons, I believe the crime rate is affected the most by the problems of society and poverty.