Some people believe that developing countries should concentrate on improving industrial skills whereas others argue that these countries should promote education first. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions as to whether developing nations should place a high priority on enhancing industry-related skills or education. While I understand that the enhancement of working skills could be beneficial to some degree/extent, I would contend that education should be prioritized.

On the one hand, there are some possible benefits of improving industrial skills. Firstly, since developing countries often lack workers with specialized ability/required expertise, the governments of these countries should invest more in training and enhancing working skills to provide sufficient workforce. In a Vietnamese firm specializing in electricity and automatic engineering, for instance, there are merely a few workers capable of being promoted to a technician or engineer, which could severely affect the work flow. Besides, industrial skills training could also increase productivity since when staff has a well-rounded skill set, they are more likely to perform efficiently and productively. As a result, more revenue would be created not only for the business but also for the nation as a whole.

However, I would argue that promoting education is a more effective pathway towards success for developing nations. First and foremost, education is often considered the optimal way to maintain a high intellectual level of human resources, which determines the future and prosperity of a country. Undoubtedly, no economies developed without having a host of intellects, such as scientists or experts in different areas. Another importance of a well-structured education is that it promotes effective communication, allowing new ways to trade with other countries. Undeniably, healthy economic partnerships with overseas enterprises are inevitable for the growth of a nation, and well-educated people are often able to communicate effectively and have more opportunities to interact with others across the globe. Therefore, investing more in the education system is crucial to strengthen the nation.

In conclusion, while working skills could bring some advantages, I reckon that economically emerging nations should pay more attention to allocating their resource to education because of its benefits to the country’s development in the long run.