Some people believe that the development of artificial intelligence will make human labour obsolete. Others think that work performed by humans will always be important.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Technological progress has revolutionized the way people deal with their work. Therefore, some people would argue/believe that due to AI development, human workers will be no longer needed. Nevertheless, in my viewpoint, people will always play a vital role in many occupations.

On the one hand, the human workforce should be replaced by artificial intelligence as these automated programs are developed as labor-saving devices, thus boost productivity and increase the revenue. To illustrate, numerous manufacturers nowadays apply computer-integrated manufacturing into their production process, which not only can be faster and less error-prone, but it also gives rise to cost-reduction in worker employment. This example indicates that advances in automation technology help handle many tasks previously occupied by manual laborers with absolute proficiency and lessen payments for the manufacturing workforce, which is one of the criterias prompting these manufacturers to go for AI-driven machines and robotics in lieu of traditional working practices by workers.

Although AI is advancing at an incredible pace and doing things that were once thought to be within the sole territory of humans, I am more inclined to believe that there are still obviously some areas where algorithms need humans. No matter how efficient the AI technology itself is, it can sometimes be faulty and therefore needs the precision coming from human intelligence. For instance, regarding medicine, although AI technology/automation proves applicable to various operations and treatments, some tasks done by doctors and paramedics still hold a crucial role when it comes to accuracy and precision. Moreover, even though ingenious inventions such as iPhone nowadays have the machine learning capacity/ability, they do not yet possess some unique human capabilities in terms of soft skills such as teamwork, communication, creativity, and critical thinking to count a few.

To conclude, although the advent of artificial intelligent marks an important milestone in human development, it can not wholly replace many aspects of the cognitive performance of humans, most notably includes precision and soft skills.