Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views as to why someone should learn another language. While some may say the sole reason for that is to travel or work abroad, I would argue that there are many other reasons for language learning.

One plausible explanation as to why some believe learning another language is only for those who travel or work overseas is that, to these people, a foreign language is not of much help in their home countries. Indeed, many live their whole life in their own locality only speaking their mother tongue. It is therefore understandable that, to their thinking, a second language is only necessary and applicable to those who have to work or travel abroad.

However, I would argue there are more reasons for language learning, besides simply traveling or working abroad. First of all, having a second language can give people a competitive edge in the job market. Indeed, workers who are bilingual or multilingual tend to be highly sought-after by employers in today's context of increased globalization. Moreover, a polyglot can even enjoy better opportunities in his or her academic path. For instance, students with high English proficiency are likely to have great chances of receiving scholarships from prestigious foreign education institutions.

To sum up, while some people believe that getting a job or taking trips abroad is the sole reason why someone should become multilingual, I tend towards the viewpoint that there are many other reasons to do so, including better work and study opportunities.