Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language is very popular these days. While some believe that the reason for doing so is for traveling or working abroad only, I would argue that there are many other reasons to learn another language.

One plausible explanation as to why some believe learning another language is only for those who travel or work overseas is that, to these people, a native language is not of much help in their home country. Indeed, many do not have much opportunity to expose themselves to the native language, thereby not being able to experience basic communication, including interacting or working with foreigners. For example, on account of their working patterns, rural inhabitants tend to consider overseas travel as a luxury, instead, they could afford domestic travel, and they feel that it is enough. Therefore, they seem to be under the impression that the purpose of acquiring a new language is just for those who have the intention of traveling or working abroad.

Despite the above arguments, I am more inclined to believe that acquiring a foreign language serves many other purposes, especially for a successful career and lifelong education. To begin with, in this globalization era, people right in their home country can have the opportunity to work for many multinational corporations that have expanded their businesses to that country, as long as they are proficient in international languages like English or Chinese. Thus, if they want to lead a comfortable life with a well-paid salary, it is necessary to learn those languages in order to work for those international companies. Furthermore, language learners can have more access to useful materials and resources only available in foreign languages. For instance, by keeping updated worldwide information in foreign languages, such as reading newspapers in English, people are able to/could gain a better insight into current affairs. This example indicates that new language acquisition would do a lot for learners to equip themselves with a wide range of knowledge.

To sum up, some may say that learning another language is only for traveling or working overseas; however, my own view is that the importance of foreign language learning goes beyond those two reasons.