Some people believe that employees should stay in the same job for the rest of their lives.

Others think they should switch jobs at least once during their worklife.

To what extent do you agree/disagree?

While some argue that people should work for the same job, I agree with those who say that changing job is necessary. This essay will explain how it encourages employees to stay motivated and helps them to learn new skills.

Firstly, a change of job motivates employees to become more productive in their work. This is due to the fact that they might feel monotonous by doing the same task every day. With a change of job, they become enthusiastic because they have something new to do. Consequently, they take more interest in doing the things that they have started to learn. For instance, one of my colleagues in my office, who was recently transferred from Accounting Department to Human Resource Department, told me that how motivated he was feeling due to entirely new tasks he had to perform. In contrast, employees following the same routine may develop slacking-off habits, and it may lead them to be fired from their jobs.

Secondly, moving to a new job enables workers to enhance their skill-sets. This is because their new jobs require them to do new things that they would not do otherwise. For example, five years ago, I changed my career from the job of an auditor to an accountant, and it helped me to equip with accounting skills which I did not have when I was an auditor. If I had not changed my job, I would not have learned these new skills. Conversely, people who keep on doing the same job do not learn new skills.

In conclusion, a career change is essential in my opinion because it is a source of motivation for employees, and they learn different things by doing new activities.