Nowadays, many children are using cellphones and mobile phones.

Many say it is good. Some say it is bad. What is your opinion?

The trend of using mobile phones by children is increasing these days. While some people say that it has positive effects on children, I agree with those who argue that it is bad for children. This essay will explain how cellphones distract young people from their studies, and why they are a waste of money.

Firstly, using mobile phones by youngsters results in being distracted from their studies. This is because most of the time, they use social media on their cellphones, like Facebook and Twitter. It is quite usual for a young student to get distracted due to notifications on their mobiles while they are studying. As soon as, they see a message from their friends, they rush to reply to that message, thus not being able to study effectively. A report by the Youngsters showed that over 55% of students failed their tests in the last year due to owing personal mobile phones.

Secondly, having personal mobile phones by young ones is a complete waste of money. The younger generation gets quite crazy when it comes to buying the new versions of mobile gadgets. These new models have outrageous prices, and children put pressure on their parents to buy them. Consequently, a lot of money is wasted on buying these mobile phones. For instance, last year, I saw my nephew telling his parents to get him the latest version of the I-phone, and they were forced to spend a huge amount of money to keep their son happy.

In conclusion, I believe that the use of mobile phones by children is a negative development, because these are the main source of distraction for young students, and people squander money on buying them.