Different studies have shown that the trend of watching television by children has tremendously increased

as compared to the past and now they give less time to doing creative things. This essay will explain that

the primary reason for this is due to greater availability of TV channels, and the best solution to tackle

this problem is to educate parents on how to control their children.

The main reason for children watching more television nowadays is an increased number of cartoon channels being broadcasted on television. In the past, there used to be a limited number of TV channels that would

broadcast cartoons for children, but now many new companies have stepped in the television industry. As a result,

children waste more of their time in watching these programmes as they feel amused by the fascinating stories presented in such programmes. For instance, in my childhood, I used to watch cartoons only for 20 minutes every day because there was only one channel presenting cartoons for children.

A long term solution to this predicament is to launch a public campaign for educating parents about parenting skills.

Parents should be taught about the dangers of losing control of their children. One way to have more control over children

is to motivate them by offering rewards on the completion of specific tasks requiring their active participation.

Children are likely to take an interest in such activities if they know that they will get the things they like. A recent study by the Khaleej Times has shown that parents who learned about parenting skills were successful in motivating their children to complete their homework timely.

In conclusion, the main cause of young people giving more time to TV is a wide range of cartoon programmes, and this issue can be overcome by teaching parents about good parenting skills.