It is argued by people that government has a responsibility to enact laws about people’s nutrition and food choice, while some people have the opposite consider. In my opinion, both sides are of paramount importance in equal measure and this essay will state my preference.

According to proponents of governmental legislations, as a number of people especially young people have a preference for consuming junk foods and soft drinks rather than healthy eating habits, this contributes to the rising levels of obesity among children in many major cities. Therefore, it is necessary for each government to minimize unhealthy diets by enacting laws that not only reduce foods containing tremendous amounts of sugar and salt but also encourage vegetable and meat suppliers to sell their products at lower prices for customers. By doing these steps, the authority offers healthier solutions to individuals, and thus, decreases the risks of metabolic diseases including diabetes

However, despite some beneficial consequences mentioned above, selecting foods and nutrition should be a personal issue only. This is because individuals’ tastes and preferences vary distinctly from person to person which makes it virtually impossible to enact the most judicious food regulations for everyone. For example, those who go to the gym six days a week prefer eat-clean habits by consuming more protein and fewer grease foods, whereas labor workers, who use massive amounts of energy to make jobs done during the day, need to consume a ton of foods and nutrition. Besides, food demand should not just be investigated through purely scientific spectacles because it is also a matter of spontaneity. In such cases, restriction of food choices would be equivalent to deprivation of personal liberty and gratification.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that although both sides are important in the same measure, food should only be a matter of personal choice. The extent of government intervention should be confined to the role of just a credible nutritional consultant for the public.