Some people believe that the government should not spend money on international aid when they have their own disadvantaged people, like the homeless and unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Concerning the issue of foreign aid, it is widely believed that some developed countries had better not waste their money on the international aid while they have their own unfortunate inhabitants, such as the people who do not have a house or a job. As far as I am concerned, I do partially agree with this point of view due to some following reasons.

First of all, it can be said with certainty that government’s priority should be spent on the improvement of their disadvantaged citizens rather than help other countries. By this way, their citizens can have a chance to overcome poverty, have a better life and even contribute to the development of the countries.

In addition to this, a subsequent factor could be because foreign aid sometimes makes other undeveloped countries more and more dependent on the developed countries. Day by day, the government in these countries may have lost their citizens’ beliefs and face a lot of economic-social problems. For instance, despite numberous effort made by the UN and other rich countries, some countries in Africa can not make full use of the aid be conditional on other countries’ supply.

In contrast, it must be admitted that by international aid, developed countries can create a good impression on other countries. Furthermore, it help poor countries to improve their economy, create more job vacancies and make a lot of profit to pay all the debt for the rich ones.

Taking everything into consideration, people have to weigh up in their thoughts to what extent this issue should be supported. However, the discussions are convincing enough to lead me to the conclusion that developed countries should spend money on foreign aid when there are not any homeless or jobless people existing in the own countries.