Some people believe that government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the aim of relieving effectively traffic congestion, people consider different practical suggestion that government plan to construct whether building train and subway lines or more and wider roads. This essay will state some plausible reasons behind this debatable notion and present my opinion to conclude.

On the one hand, the advocates of railway improvements point out that the building train would be reliable infrastructures to reduce traffic jam. This is based on the fact that traffic jam is often on account of road-user tendency to hire their vehicle and such this facility could thus encourage people to reduce the use of private vehicle. In addition, it is often said that the underground tracks of railway would not take up vast surface area. Hence, train journey would not obstruct other traffics or activities in the surface, as it is widely known that traffic congestion is due to not only waiting time of traffic light but also human activity surrounding the roadways.

On the other hand, the supporters of broad-road development point out that widening the road space is more effective way to reduce road congestion. To clarify, it is known that high density of vehicle often causes traffic jam because the roadway space is insufficient with the area vehicles use. As a result, with wider roads, the capability of the roadways to accommodate vehicle traversing will increase. Furthermore, there would be tendency, often generate traffic volume, among driver to travel in the same way when going to same destination. Thus, the authority, on behalf of employing more reliable method to relieve traffic congestion, should construct more alternative roads as necessary in order to encourage road users to spread into different direction.

Overall, it is logical to conclude that railway improvements could decrease the traffic volume by reducing the use of private vehicle and avoiding human activity in the surface. Indeed, this is provided that there are limited spaces for constructing more and wider roads.