Some people believe that a person’s intelligence is inherited from the parents, while others believe that their environment is the main factor. Discuss these views. Which factor do you think is mostly responsible for intelligence?

There are the different agreements between some people and others in which main factors, heritability or environment, would be responsible for human’s intelligence. This essay will debate both points of view with some plausible reason and most significant factor that I prefer to conclude.

On the one hand, supporters of parental intelligence highlight that people who are brilliant tend to have intelligent offspring. Since research has discovered that most of cognitive abilities depend on the X-chromosome which belongs to mother as twice as those in father, so this gene that has inherited from parents will provide instruction to construct brain and nervous system to influence offspring intelligence. Moreover, it might be said that mother plays a big role in the fetus adaptation during pregnancy. For example, if intelligent mother previously spent time on reading books as her leisure activity, without any negative sense, she thus would probably enhance to introduce academic cognition with a sense of pleasure to their children.

On the other hand, supporters of environmental factors would emphasize that where individuals live is also a significant influence to their intelligence. For instance, people living in the city would normally have more problem-solving abilities and social cognition compared to those in village. This is because they have to frequently deal with many complex problems in the city, such as traffic congestion, over pollution, communicate successfully with multicultural society. Furthermore, it is often said that quality and quantity of learning in the school, as a part of individual’s environment, would also encourage young persons to gain cognitive abilities. This is possible since comprehensive learning, method in the school to master relation among distinct subjects, has assisted students to possess multi-ability to face dynamic situation.

In conclusion, I am certain that intelligent persons are mostly influenced by their environment especially parental education, meaning that offspring’s intelligence is dependent on how parents communicate with and nurture the children rather than inheritance.