Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that when police are fully prepared with guns, they are more likely to increase the level of violence in the society. However, in my opinion, I partly agree with this point of view for several reasons.

First, it is dangerous for innocent people when the police use guns. Guns are created to shot an individual in a far distance. As a result, in some circumstances, police officers could use guns as a weapon to stop the criminals’ actions such as running or threatening the hostage. However, if they cannot use it properly, they could harm the innocent people or shot the one who doesn’t have any crime records. In particular, one US police shot an unarmed man named Jacob Blake, which then later created a critical flow in the society.

However, not a crimes in the community are related to the gun relations for the police officers. There are many cases causing violence which the residents were killed by dangerous offenders, or in a fight with someone without the presence of police officers. On the other hand, guns used by the police would decrease the rate of being threatened when they are on duty by the criminals and limit the chance of harming more innocent people of the offenders.

In conclusion, I don’t think using guns could cause all violance to the community. However, the police should be careful not to injure innocent people when they are in their mission; and the government should have more gun obligations to prevent the overuse of guns of the police officers.