Some people believe that increasing tax on various industries will reduce pollution whereas others believe that there are better alternative ways.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It was believed by some people that raising tax on many industries will tackle the problem of pollution whilst others reckon that there are more effective alternatives to tax raising. Considering the reasons of each side, it may be best, in my opinion, to combine a variety of methods rather than depend solely on one way.

Those agreeing to put an increase on tax believe that the movement will force many companies and corporations to reconsider their current production procedures. Consequently, they will be expected to pick up a more environmentally-friendly tactic in order to survive in the business world. On the other hand, it is also true that besides raising taxes, other alternatives can also be implemented to deal with pollution. Governments and organizations can, for example, initiate a project encouraging people to use public transport more often, or to trade ole and unused things such as cans, bottles, or clothes for money and other minor privileges.

As both sides have their own plausible explanation to stand their ground, the most practical approach, it seems, is to combine the best of each party together. Surely, redirecting production activities of significant and influential industries with the view of protecting the environment is likely to produce the desired results in a short amount of time. However, when it comes to long-term effects, it would be foolish to underestimate the power of each and every individual of a country. As a matter of fact, it should be clear to any leaders that once a policy gains adequate belief and co-operation from the citizens, its success is completely within reach. Therefore, efforts to involve every citizen in, for instance, educational and advertising programmes, should be put under consideration.

In conclusion, instead of relying solely on one way such as raising taxes to deal with pollution, the far more effective movement, in my view, is to implement various alternatives simultaneously with the attempt to involve every party and every individual in our society.