Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that teaching children the literature of their own country should be given more importance than that of other countries. In my view, I disagree with this idea because I believe that both types of literature play a vital role in the development of children's knowledge.

On the one hand, learning locally written works gives children the opportunity to understand their own traditional and historical values in their home country. Take Su tich banh chung banh day as an example, this fairy tale helps kids to know about the main purpose of Tet holiday and how people celebrated Tet in the past. In addition, literature works such as folktales, poems or stories help ignite children's patriotism. For example, By reading Hich tuong si, children have the chance to learn about how their ancestors went through different challenges and even sacrificed themselves for the independence of VietNam. This helps remind them that they have to make every possible effort to preserve and protect the merits of forefathers.

On the other hand, placing any less importance on other countries' literature can form an incomplete understanding of the world. Different countries have different cultural practice and historical events. Through foreign literature books, they will provide students with in-depth knowledge about cultural and traditional values of different parts of the world. This can help them to avoid culture shock or other culture-related problems when they travel abroad or work in an international company in the future. Another benefit is that when children have literature knowledge domestically as well as internationally, they would be able to think from different perspectives to resolve a problem they encounter, from that raising decision-making and problem-solving skills.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, I am convinced that it is necessary for children to learn both local and international literature.