Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that there are a huge number of choices for us in today’s society. I concur with this statement by the following explanations.

It is undeniable that the explosion of merchandises has led people to face an overwhelming number of options. In the world that has become a big place with consumerism, tons of commodities, which are produced by the number of suppliers, are being launched to the market with the purpose of satisfying people’s increasing demands. There are countless consumer products and services which cause people to be confused when making a decision about what to purchase and or even where to go shopping. Today, the number of items in each grocery store is around 50,000 choices, and this is likely to lead us to stand in front of a similarly outsize wealth of options.

Apart from the overwhelming consumer choices expressed above, there is another factor should be discussed. The emergence of the Internet is one of the elements helping us access contributing to the endless alternatives for the latest recreation activities such as movies or music. These genres are constantly updated which creates a dramatic expansion in choices for our hobbies nowadays. Furthermore, the Internet not only provides us more entertainment options but also helps us have more intelligent alternatives for consumer goods due to more clear information. E-commerce, for instance, is leading people to increase the number of intelligent consumer choices due to the transparency of merchandises’ origin.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I firmly hold the view that there is plenty of alternatives for people to make decisions these days.