Some people believe that parents have a great influence on children’s growth, but others think that influence from the outside plays a more important role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

For decades, there has been growing concern about the next generation’s healthy development. Although we cannot ignore the influence of the outside environment, I believe, parents take the leading role in children’s growth and development.

Parenting quality plays a fundamental and pivotal role in children’s cognitive development and psychological and emotional health. In early childhood, children acquire knowledge and abilities by imitating their parents. During this period, consciously or unconsciously, parents will impart their moral values and outlook on life to the next generation, which will insert considerable influence on children’s future. Also, the pattern and quality of children’s relationships in the future are replicas of the childhood parent-child relationship. Therefore, a child with a close relationship with parents is more likely to establish good social relationships and find happiness.

On the other hand, an individual’s social environment, including social relationships can have a profound impact on a child’s healthy development and future achievements. Children living in social environments characterized by residential stability are less likely to be absent from school and perform better academically than those who do not. Also, being unmatured and unmatured, children are likely to learn from their social environment, for example by mimicking (or challenging) their peers, and thus what they see in their day to day environment is likely to influence their future behaviour. However, a child’s social environment is largely determined by where their parents live and send them to school. It is parents who have the option.

In conclusion, parenting, other than social environment, is the essential factor in children’s development and future shaping