Technology has been infiltrating into our daily life and now it seems that we cannot imagine living without it. Recently since the accessibility to tablets and TV shows for kids are also more convenience, children these days are raised with owning a tablet and carrying it around. I strongly agree that time kids spent on electronic devices, including television and computer, should be limit and they should spend more time on more traditional alternatives like books.

Spending too much time on television can shortened kids’ attention span, while books doesn’t do so. According to recent research, multitasking decreased individual’s attention span when our focus are shift too often. The habit of multitasking came from being on phone and switching the things we do. For example, changing channels while in the middle of a video on YouTube is common, they get bored easily from the content. This instant switching of channels makes children shifts their attention to different contents too fast. Thus, decreasing their attention span.

Some could argue that playing computer games are like exercise to the brain, but it comes with kids being more aggressive. While playing games kids may copied the action seen in the game and carry it out in real life, for example, punching. Another instance could be that after they lose a match, they became furious and this feeling is displaced onto family and friends. Scolding to parents when parents prevent them from playing games is also observed in many situations.

In conclusion, my point of view stands firmed that hours on TV and computer games should be reduced due to many disadvantages that come with them. There are other things that can be done in their free time apart from being on electronic devices.