Some people believe that a person’s intelligence is inherited from the parents,

while others believe that their environment is the main factor. Discuss these

views. Which factor do you think is mostly responsible for intelligence.

The ideas of person's intelligence, whether it is inherited from the parents or the environment factor continues to be controversial. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I will explain below.

On the one hand, those who support parental inheritance as the main factor claim that people who skilled in music, undoubtedly, mostly come from musicians' family. In the biological aspect, children's' cognitive is affected by genes of parents especially from mothers, where if the parents are expert in music, the children would be probably inherited. In fact, There is numerous well-known singer who was born from a singer mother or father. For example, In Indonesia, Kevin Aprilio and Ahmad Dhany Family, it is popular as musician family. Furthermore, it might be said that appropriate manner of mother during pregnancy until postpartum treatment could bring a positive effect on children's brain development.

On the other hand, the opponents of parental inheritance are able to cite evidence from the environment, where that gene of parents have apparently not influenced person's intelligence. The intellectual could grow when children involved in formal schooling. In the societies, it is believed, Attending school early and regularly might enhance cognitive abilities. This is because school activity plays an important role in boosting brain power and memory. Moreover, consuming a toxic substance is apart of environmental factor, where has a significant effect on the decline of cognitive function. The poisonous substance - for instance, alcohol and drugs - affect neurological development and thus affect person's IQ.

Overall, I would tend to side with the opponents of parental inheritance. Although parents inherit the intelligence to their children, The environmental factor still dominates highest.