Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary settings, some professionals including doctors, lawyers and engineers are granted higher wages than those average employees. In this essay, I will discuss why their higher earnings are reasonable and what kind of occupation should be offered higher salaries.

There are several lines of evidence justifying the higher earnings of these professionals. To commence with, in order to work as a doctor or engineer, one needs post graduate or doctoral degrees that can only be obtained after several years of study. In addition, people’ earnings should be based on their contribution to the whole society. Doctors’ work plays crucial roles in maintaining individuals’ health, and lawyers make sure that people get justice, while civil engineers design houses, shopping malls, bridges and so on.

Having said that, there are several other professionals who deserve higher salaries. In my opinion, scientists deserve higher salaries, since the vast majority of people are beneficiaries of the development of science. To be more specific, it is medical scientists’ continuous dedication that contributes to the enhancement of medical development. Consequently, those previously incurable diseases can be cured, and humans’ life expectations have been prolonged. Besides, it is agricultural scientists’ contribution that increases the output of food, and thus eliminates the threat of malnutrition and food shortage. Soldiers and cops also deserve higher salaries because without them we cannot live safely.

In conclusion, the fact that some professionals earn more than others is justified. In my opinion, salaries should be commensurate with the skills and experience required to perform a job and the contribution they make to the society. Hence, I believe that scientists also need to be paid more.