Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many individuals are of the opinion that reading story books is more beneficial than watching television or playing e-games on the computer. From my perspective, I completely agree with this statement and will analyze my point of view in the essay below.

To begin with, children’s imagination can be augmented by reading books in comparison to playing computer games and watching TV. By reading books filled with marvellous and impressive stories, children have to use their imagination to create visions and visualize all the events detailed in the books in order to discover fascinating things through single pages. Therefore, by means of creating images, thoughts, and opinions, children will enhance their imaginativeness and creativity. Meanwhile, this can hardly be the case for TV and games, as they provide kids with full images and vivid colors, making it superfluous for kids to envision.

Admittedly, being engaged in playing games on a computer and watching television is undeniably great fun as a wonderful stress reliever, but games are only games. In contrast, story book reading is associated with a multitude of educational benefits, one of which is the cultivation of emotions. In other words, it helps kids be more sympathetic and elegant. If children laugh or cry with the characters in the books, they will gradually develop feelings of love for other human beings in real life. Furthermore, children will be exposed to a wide range of vocabulary as well as sentence structures when reading, leading to their better writing skills, while when it comes to TV shows or computer games, sounds and images are two key elements rather than texts.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that the advantages of reading books far outweigh those of watching TV or playing games for children, since this activity does good for their imagination, emotions, and language ability.