Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, it is advocated that children should read books instead of spending time on television or computer games. From my viewpoint, while I agree that TV programs and computer games have some good aspects, I still harbor the belief that reading books is one of the most effective ways for the growth of children.

On the one hand, TV programs and computer games play a certain role in supporting the development of children. Firstly, when watching an educational program for example, children are exposed to basic knowledge about the human, the environment or learn to have proper behavior in life. Meanwhile, some intellectual games may help children improve problem-solving skill because children have to think carefully to overcome the challenges or situations that the games provide.

On the other hand, it is understandable that why many people believe that reading stories is a good hobby for children. Firstly, stories in books help children enhance imagination and creation. For instance, when reading fairy tale stories in books, children can image the scenes or characters from text and use their creativeness to comprehend stories in their own way. Moreover, reading books requires children to focus on the content of stories so it is an effective way to sharpen their concentration skill, which necessary for the educational background of children in the future.

In conclusion, although some people think that TV programs and computer games are effective, personally I strongly believe that reading books has more benefits for children. However, a reasonable combination of reading and other habits will help children develop many skills comprehensively.