Some people believe that rich countries should provide poorer countries with help that is not financial aid.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As part of international community, we tend to be familiar that developed countries give the economic assistance for developing countries. However, giving of other assistance beside financial aspect also lead good support for developing countries. This essay illustrates some reasons why I am personally agree with the statement.

The purpose of providing economic assistance to developing countries is only give short term of benefits. Although financial is likely support the infrastructure of countries, this might not solve the problem for long term. For instance, when the developed country such as United States offered the South African financial aid to improve their education facility, however it only build the facility and infrastructure not for the continuation impact to development of Africa’s education. As the teachers, literature and other things are also main aspect to increase the education system. Hence, the financial support does not give impact for the country development thoroughly.

Developed countries are able to transfer knowledge and technology to prevent developing countries become dependence. This way might attempt poorer countries become self-reliant, as it citizens provided knowledge by richer countries to improve their human resources. For example, Japan has signed agreement to share technology knowledge to Indonesia. The knowledge of advanced technology might increase the capability and skill of Indonesia’s people, furthermore, the development of human resources allow to escalate the income of country with their industry, education, and health sector . Thus, this form of assistance is likely give long term benefits for the country’s growth.

In summary, while there is advantage to economic assistance given by developed country, however there is other assistance tend to help the developing countries solve their problem. In my view, the other assistance is likely give more advantages to support the development of poorer countries than financial assistance it self.