Some people believe that spending money on developing technology for space exploration is unjustifiable, and there are more beneficial ways to spend money. Do you agree or disagree?

It has invariably been polarising over whether budget should be spent on space programmes or other essential aspects of life. As far as I am concerned, I strongly support the belief that public expenditure should be allocated to various crucial sectors such as education or medicine. However, investing in producing more advanced technology for outer space exploration is not worthless at all.

On the one hand, the exploration of space exerts several unequivocally positive influences on human’s life. An adamant rationale is communication all over the globe has been significantly improved since the appearance of satellites. For instance, NASA, a synonymous space organisation has launched a plethora of satellites in orbit, facilitating the broadcast of signals in the form of audio and video to four corners of the world. Therefore, the human race can have access to television, allowing them to watch international events immediately anywhere on Earth. Secondly, the efficiency of satellites in predicting climate changes has been scientifically proven. Human beings now are having chances to take precautions before manifold natural catastrophes like fierce avalanches or tsunamis. Despite the fact that investments in technology served for space programmes worth a huge amount of money, it is cost-effective because of all the reasons I mentioned above.

Nevertheless, other important sectors such as education, medicine or transportation also need financial aid owing to a multitude of advantageous impacts on mankind. One evident justification is there are various outrageously disastrous problems occurring in modern society which require immediate actions. Take COVID-19 pandemic as a clear example. It is estimated that the mortality rate of this health crisis has surpassed over 700 thousand people, but no effective vaccine has been formulated. Consequently, there is a strong agreement that international officials should spend their expenditure on addressing this disaster as soon as possible. Thus, devoting money to explore extraterrestrial life is not sensible now since there are more imperative issues which demand instant financial support than that.

From my perspective, spending on manufacturing technically advanced gadgets with an aim of gaining a deeper understanding in extraterrestrial civilization is not unwarranted, yet other vital aspects of life can not be neglected.