Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career. While other believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about what young individuals should do after leaving high school. While there are some benefits of getting a job right after school, I would argue that it is better to pursue higher education.

On the one hand, entering the workforce straight after graduating from high school is beneficial to some extent. First, some jobs require passion and technical skills rather than academic knowledge, taking these jobs early instead of spending much time at university gives young people more time to sharpen their job-related skills, and help them to progress rapidly in their careers. For example, a person who wants to be a chef finds it more suitable to get a culinary job, and gradually learn cooking skills from his seniors. Second, impoverished people have to find a full-time job early to support their families. If they opt to continue higher education the fee of which is relatively expensive, the burden on their families’ budget could increase significantly.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why young people should study at university or college. One consideration is that this choice is a prerequisite for people’s success in many professional jobs. Only by pursuing tertiary education, people can gain academic qualifications that are required in many professions these days. For instance, to become a doctor, a person needs to accomplish his bachelor’s degree at university. Additionally, the labor market has become increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for a position in a company. This competition requires people to have a university degree in order to stand out from many candidates.

In conclusion, although getting a job after high school could bring about some advantages, I believe that a better option is choosing to go to university.